Get Better

Have a Beer - Gluten-Free!

March 9, 2018 by Enzymedica Marketing
Have a Beer - Gluten-Free!

Going out for a drink just got a whole lot more exciting for those with a gluten intolerance. Many places, from bars to your local liquor store, are now carrying more alcoholic beverages that are gluten-free. For those who don’t know, having a gluten intolerance means that the gluten protein found in wheat causes a reaction in the body that can lead to bloating and gastrointestinal pain. People with gluten intolerance need to be wary of foods such as: wheat, barley, rye, yeast (brewer’s, baker’s, nutritional), instant coffee, and milk chocolate. Learn more about what makes someone gluten intolerant here.

What beers are gluten-free?    

Beer is an alcoholic beverage that is typically derived from wheat, but there are now breweries that produce gluten-free beers, such as Harvester Fresh Hop IPA from Harvester Brewing. They are an entirely gluten-free brewery, and Harvester’s Fresh Hop IPA is made with certified gluten-free oats. 

Other gluten-free beers:

  • Whistler Brewing Forager Gluten-Free Lager
  • Joseph James Brewing Fox Tail
  • Ipswich Ale Brewery: Celia Saison
  • Dogfish Head Craft Brewed Ales: Tweason’ale
  • Glutenberg India Pale Ale
  • Omission GF Pale Ale (gluten removed)
  • Stone Delicious IPA (gluten removed)

What hard ciders do not have gluten?

An extremely popular trend lately has been gluten-free hard cider. Not all hard ciders are gluten free, because some brands use barley for enzymes and flavor4. Most ciders are gluten-free because they are not brewed from wheat, barley, or rye, but rather apples. Here are a few to look for:

  • Angry Orchards Hard Apple Cider
  • Ace Pear Cider
  • Stella Artois
  • Crispin Cider

Does wine have gluten?

For all the wine-enthusiasts,  wine is generally gluten-free. The term “generally” refers to the possibility of cross contamination. Enzymedica GlutenEase™ is a great tool to help your body in the event of accidental cross contamination. Gluten from wine will usually come from the wheat paste used to seal the wooden wine casks used to age the wine3. Many prefer stainless steel tanks these days, but if you react to a wine that has been aged in a cask, you may possibly be reacting to that wheat paste3. Despite the very rare occasion that there is a trace of gluten in wine, you can still feel relatively at ease with this beverage.

How do I keep my home-made cocktails free of gluten?

Sometimes it is just easier to make cocktails at home, so you’re aware of everything that is going into your beverage. The first step would be to make sure that the alcohol base you are using is gluten-free. Here are a few that are:

  • Deep Eddy Vodka: Use it to make fruity cocktails for when you have company or on a hot day.
  • Tito’s Homemade Vodka: This amazing gluten-free alcohol can be used universally1. With that said, simply adding mineral water and a lime tastes delicious and is extremely low in calories.
  • Bailey’s Irish Cream: This is often used to make an alcoholic coffee or hot chocolate beverage. Bailey’s may not be 100% safe for those with a gluten allergy, but okay for those with a slight intolerance1.
  • Rum and Whiskey: These are an excellent gluten-free alcohol base.
  • Tequila: Make sure the bottle says 100% agave, as this means it is made naturally with no gluten.

What happens if I accidentally drink a beverage with gluten in it?  

Gluten-free alcoholic beverage brands will vary in availability, depending on where you live and the local breweries around you. If you are unsure about whether your drink is gluten-free, be sure to check the ingredients on the label for wheat, barley, etc.

Don’t be alarmed if you’re halfway through your drink only to realize there is gluten in it! Taking digestive enzymes can help support your digestion of gluten, like Enzymedica’s GlutenEase™. This vegan and kosher dietary supplement will assist the body in a natural digestion process6. There are also extra strength capsules to help with those moments when you treat yourself to that glutenous drink that sounded just too delicious.