What Are the Most Common Dietary Restrictions?

Deciding what to eat is a deeply personal choice. Some people base their decisions on the nutrient density of certain foods vs. others, some make choices based on ethics or religion, while still others make choices due to allergy or food intolerance.

Read on to learn what are the most common dietary restrictions you might encounter:

  • Lactose intolerance: lactose is the sugar in milk, and many people stop producing the enzyme lactase, which helps break down that sugar. Lactose is found in milk and products made with milk, such as cheese, yogurt, ice cream, etc.
  • Gluten intolerance/gluten-free/gluten sensitivity: not to be confused with Celiac disease, this is a food intolerance. Gluten is a protein found in certain grains, like wheat, barley and rye and products made with those grains.
  • Vegan/plant-based: a diet or lifestyle that avoids all animal-based food sources. This includes dairy (and butter), meat, seafood, eggs and poultry. Instead, a vegan diet includes plants like beans, legumes, vegetables, fruit, grains, nuts and seeds.
  • Vegetarian: Similar to a vegan diet, but many vegetarians consume eggs and/or dairy.
  • Kosher: a diet that excludes certain foods based on Jewish laws. Certain animal products (such as pork and shellfish) are not permitted, and mixing meat and milk at the same meal is also off-limits. There are other rules, especially surrounding meat and mixing ingredients, and you might see a Kosher icon on certain foods and supplements.
  • Halal: a diet that sets rules for foods based on Islamic rules. You might see a Halal icon on certain foods and drinks. Halal diets do not allow alcohol and pork; and meat must be processed according to special guidelines.

While less common, you might also hear people talk about other dietary restrictions or see them on food packaging or restaurant menus. These could be based on preferences, nutrition, health or allergies.

  • Soy-free
  • Dairy-free
  • Grain-free
  • Nut-free
  • Wheat-free
  • Egg-free
  • Lactose-free

Learn more about food intolerances.