Common Foods That Secretly Contain Gluten

March 22, 2018

Common Foods That Secretly Contain Gluten

Gluten, a protein found in wheat, barley, rye and select other grains, can cause discomfort for those with gluten intolerance . When these people eat gluten, they can experience issues in their digestive tract that can affect how their bodies absorb food. While some gluten-containing foods like wheat, bread or pasta are easy to spot, other foods you wouldn’t expect can also contain gluten. Gluten is so common in the United States that it often shows up in foods you may not even consider carbohydrates. If you are sensitive to gluten or simply want to live a gluten-free lifestyle , make sure to steer clear of what may be sneaky gluten-containing foods.
Corn Flakes

Corn doesn’t contain gluten, so you might think a bowl of cornflakes in the morning is a good gluten-free cereal option. However, many corn- and rice-based cereals often contain malt extract or flavoring. Malt does contain gluten, so you’ll need to read the ingredients list carefully before choosing your favorite breakfast cereal. Even oats or some granolas can contain gluten, so it’s always important to check the labels. Luckily, many cereals are now labeled gluten-free right on the front of the box. Locate these boxes in the cereal aisle to find a nutritious breakfast.

Soy Sauce

How can a sauce made of soy possibly contain gluten? Unfortunately, many soy sauces are thickened with wheat flour. Many Asian-inspired sauces like teriyaki or sweet-and-sour sauce can also contain gluten. Even though each serving only has a small amount of gluten, it may still be enough to affect a sensitive digestive tract. Not all soy sauces use flour, so always be sure to read the label first.

Cream Sauces

Cream sauces like alfredo or even the sauce on macaroni and cheese may also be thickened with flour. Carefully check the ingredients in any recipes or on any products before eating these items. You may be able to use gluten-free corn starch, arrowroot or tapioca flour to thicken these sauces without losing the creamy texture you enjoy.  

Fried Foods

Many fried foods are breaded and battered, typically in a batter that contains wheat. Whether it is breadcrumbs or Panko breading, fried foods are often coated in a layer of gluten-containing ingredients. Avoid fried foods when you are eating out, to avoid gluten. If you are battering and frying a food at home, you can use cornmeal, gluten-free cornflake crumbs or crushed rice cereal instead.

Salad Dressings

Salad dressings, especially those with tangy flavors, can contain malt vinegar or soy sauce. Always check to make sure your chosen salad dressing is free of these ingredients. Instead of a prepared salad dressing, you can always use olive oil and distilled vinegar. If you are looking for a creamier dressing, be sure to read labels carefully and keep in mind that many salad dressing manufacturers do not test their products for the presence of gluten.

Vegetarian Food Products

Some veggie burgers, imitation bacon and meat-free sausage are made with seitan, a type of wheat gluten. Before purchasing these products, check for seitan and other gluten-containing ingredients. You can also use tofu for meatless options. It is made of soy, not wheat, and it is gluten-free.


Soups, especially those that are cream-based, may also use wheat as a thickener. Whether you are purchasing soup at the store or in a restaurant, you’ll need to figure out if your soup contains gluten.
When making soup at home, consider using corn starch, arrowroot or tapioca flour as a thickening agent instead. You can also stick to broth-based soups that may not use any thickeners.

Malt Beverages

Beer, full of barley, rye and wheat, isn’t the only alcoholic beverage that may contain gluten. Malt beverages like hard lemonades or other flavored beverages may also contain gluten. If you choose to drink alcohol, you can find gluten-free beers in many stores across the country. Wine and distilled liquors like vodka and rum are also gluten-free.

Thanks to increased awareness of gluten sensitivity, it is easier than ever before to eat gluten-free. New products, better labels and improved food processing makes it easier to find options that are safe for people with gluten sensitivity. By avoiding tricky gluten-containing foods, you’ll be able to steer clear of this sneaky protein.

Learning something new? Make sure you like us on Facebook for more!

Related Posts

  • Berberine: The Microbiome's Super Booster
    Berberine: The Microbiome's Super Booster

    Written by Dr. Michael Murray Berberine is finally getting its day in the sun. It’s the superstar in botanical medicine research right now and may someday even supplant curcumin as the most important commercially available plant-based dietary...

  • The Surprising Organ That Can Affect Your Mood
    The Surprising Organ That Can Affect Your Mood

    We’ve all experienced times when we feel “out of sorts” or “in a funk.” While mental health is multi-faceted, there’s one surprising part of our bodies that is being shown to exert a significant impact on our mood—our gut! Inside our gut live...

  • What Are People Saying About the Purify Cleanse?
    What Are People Saying About the Purify Cleanse?

    The Purify™ 10-Day Complete Body Cleanse is meant to be simple and easy to use, which is why we got it in the hands of some of our favorite social media mavens to try out. With the 75,000 toxins we’re exposed to in today’s world, everyone can...

  • What Is SIBO? And What Can Help?
    What Is SIBO? And What Can Help?

    Written by Dr. Michael Murray Small intestinal bacterial overgrowth (SIBO) may seem like a new condition, but I first wrote about it over 35 years ago. At the time, in the early 1980s, there was a lot of focus on the overgrowth of Candida alb...

Leave a comment

Comments will be approved before showing up.

Also in Articles on Natural Digestive Health and Wellness

5 Surprising Benefits of a Healthy Microbiome
5 Surprising Benefits of a Healthy Microbiome

August 20, 2018

It’s likely that you’ve recently heard about the “microbiome” for the first time and you may have some questions about what it is and why it’s such a big deal. Get answers to what your gut microbiome means for your health.

Continue Reading

Glutamine for Gastrointestinal Recovery and the Leaky Gut
Glutamine for Gastrointestinal Recovery and the Leaky Gut

August 15, 2018

Even though you may not have heard of it, the amino acid glutamine is critical to maintaining a healthy body and gut. Not only is glutamine the most common amino acid in the body, it is the preferred fuel of rapidly dividing cells in the intestine and immune system. This leads to it taking a vital role in pancreatic health as well as healing a “leaky gut.”

Continue Reading

4 Ways to Decrease Gas and Bloating
4 Ways to Decrease Gas and Bloating

August 10, 2018

Gas and bloating may be natural byproducts of eating, but that doesn’t mean they’re not embarrassing. For some of us, our symptoms can be so bad that we  stop eating some of the foods we love, but this isn’t the only way to solve the problem.

Continue Reading